Tihei Mauri Mate

It is with sadness we note the passing of our rangatira Carlos Tuuta and our kuia Hannah Tuanui (nee Pirika). Aunty Hannah is to be laid to rest this weekend on Wharekauri. Accordingly, our last mandate hui, originally scheduled for Saturday 15 March 2014, will be rescheduled for Saturday 22 March 2014, 9:30am at Whakamaharatanga marae.

This change in hui date also changes our voting period. It will remain open until the final mandate hui is held.

Please note that whānau are asked to vote and confirm the resolution:

‘That the Ngāti Mutunga o Wharekauri Iwi Trust is mandated to represent Ngāti Mutunga o Wharekauri in negotiations with the Crown, regarding the comprehensive settlement of Ngāti Mutunga o Wharekauri historical Treaty of Waitangi claims.’

Registered members of the Iwi Trust should have received ballot papers through the mail. If you haven’t please contact the Independent Returning officer on 0508 666 103, or e-mail elections@electionz.com

Please note – you do not have to be registered with the Ngāti Mutunga o Wharekauri Iwi Trust to exercise your whakapapa right to vote on the resolution. Ballot forms will be available at the hui for you to cast your vote. You will need to provide proof of your Ngāti Mutunga o Wharekauri whakapapa and proof of identity.

Naku noa

Paula Page
Ngāti Mutunga o Wharekauri Iwi Trust Chair    
Philip Seymour
Ngāti Mutunga o Wharekauri Mandate Group Chair